Queen of Angels Parish originally purchased the building in the early 1930s as a facility to serve community residents affected by the Depression. Chicago’s Mayor Edward J. Kelly took notice of the positive efforts, and offered to fund a refurbishment if the parishioners provided the labor free of charge.
Setting right to work, community members banded together and Guild Hall was dedicated on March 4, 1935. The name Guild hall was chosen because it reflected the Medieval era when townspeople would gather together and help those in need. At that time, the building featured a library, roller skating rink, Boy Scout room, and was the site of many musicals and shows.
In the late 1930s, the facility was renamed the 4412 Club (its address on Western Avenue), which was focused on helping community residents find employment, as well as providing entertainment, athletic and teen events to boost local morale. A resounding success, the 4412 Club helped more than 600 people find work.
Even the local media showed its support. WLS radio sponsored Barn Dances hosted by its on-air personalities, and WGN radio sent its orchestra over to entertain at fashion shows.
As the times changed, so did the facility. In 1968 it was reintroduced as a coffee house for local residents. Dubbed “The Stepping Stone”, learning and discussion was abundant in the building. For a 25 cent admission, people could enjoy stimulating conversation along with free coffee and rolls.
After a fire in 1973 left only the brick shell, the building was completely rebuilt. Reintroduced in several phases, the most recent refurbishment was in 2000. All of the rooms and facilities were upgraded and brought up to modern standards.
Queen of Angels Guild Hall now proudly stands as a contemporary venue for parish events that has the added benefit of a colorful history.